Sherlock Holmes. Selected Stories (2nd edition)

ISBN : 9780199672066

Arthur Conan Doyle; Barry McCrea
400 Pages
129 x 197 mm
Pub date
Apr 2014
Oxford World's Classics
Send mail
  • A new selection of a dozen of the best Sherlock Holmes stories, which sees Holmes at work from the beginning to the end of his career, together with a lively introduction and additional background material.
  • This selection covers the full range of Holmes stories, including country house mysteries, city mysteries, and political tales, as well as the book-length The Sign of the Four.
  • Introduction by Barry McCrea examines the reasons for the stories' enduring popularity, the 'science of deduction', the late Victorian and Edwardian context, and Holmes's rich afterlife on stage, page, and screen.
  • Chronology and Explanatory Notes provide further historical context.
  • Up-to-date Bibliography.
  • Texts taken from the Oxford Sherlock Holmes collections.
  • The only anthology of stories from across the Sherlock Holmes series, and the only edition with attractive additional features, including introduction and notes.

'Detection is, or ought to be, an exact science'
For more than a century the Holmes stories have held a strange, almost inexplicable grip on the popular imagination. They are intimately associated with late Victorian and Edwardian society, yet curiously timeless in their appeal. The characters of Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson, together with their housekeeper Mrs Hudson and their address at 221B Baker Street are as familiar today as when they made their first appearance in the late 1880s. The stories have been endlessly interpreted, adapted, and modernized, but still we return to Arthur Conan Doyle's originals.
This new selection of some of the best of Sherlock Holmes is designed to give readers a full sense of his world: the brooding fog of London, ruined heirs in creaking mansions, and hidden crimes in the farthest-flung corners of the British Empire. The stories take Holmes's career from its early days to its end, and include the book-length Sign of the Four. Barry McCrea's introduction investigates the currents that lie beneath the surface.


Note on the Text
Select Bibliography
A Chronology of Arthur Conan Doyle
The Sign of the Four
A Scandal in Bohemia
The Red-Headed League
A Case of Identity
The Man with the Twisted Lip
The Blue Carbuncle
The Speckled Band
The Musgrave Ritual
The Greek Interpreter
The Dancing Men
The Six Napoleons
His Last Bow
Explanatory Notes

About the author: 

Barry McCrea taught at Yale before moving to the University of Notre Dame. His novel, The First Verse was published in 2005; his most recent work is In the Company of Strangers: Family and Narrative in Dickens, Conan Doyle, Joyce, and Proust (Columbia UP, 2011).

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.