Pudd'nhead Wilson and Other Tales

ISBN : 9780199554713

Mark Twain; R. D. Gooder
320 Pages
129 x 196 mm
Pub date
Feb 2009
Oxford World's Classics
Send mail

Pudd'nhead Wilson (1894) was Mark Twain's last serious work of fiction, and perhaps the only real novel that he ever produced. Written in a more sombre vein than his other Mississippi writings, the novel reveals the sinister forces that Mark Twain felt to be threatening the American dream. In spite of a plot which includes child swapping, palmistry, and a pair of Italian twins, this astringent work also raises the serious issue of racial differences. This volume also includes two other late works 'Those Extraordinary Twins' and 'The Man that Corrupted Hadleyburg'.

ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.


Pudd'nhead Wilson
Those Extraordinary Twins
The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg

About the author: 

Edited by R. D. Gooder, Fellow, Clare College, Cambridge

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.