User login

Graded Readers

Oxford Graded Readers

We offer a broad range of Graded Readers to suit every teacher’s needs. Explore our different series to find the perfect readers for your students.

How to choose a Graded Reader

  • by your students’ age
  • by coursebook syllabus
  • by exam level
How are Oxford Graded Readers graded?
Our Graded Readers are graded by core structures, vocabulary and book length. Core structures provide the easiest means to select an appropriate level because the structural content reflects the grammar syllabi of most English language coursebooks.
What are headwords?

Words that form headings in a dictionary, under which their meaning is explained are called headwords.

The headword count refers to the number of headwords a student needs to know in order to read the text with relative ease. The number of headwords is controlled to provide a challenging but accessible read.

You can find the number of headwords for each level in a Reader series by checking the series page.

Oxford Reading Club

*Click the series name to find out more.

C1 7.0 - 8.0 1
B2 5.5 - 6.5 Pre-1
B1 4.0 - 5.0 2
A2 3.0 Pre-2
A1 1.0 - 2.0 3 - 4 - 5
Dolphin Readers Classic Tales Oxford
Read and Imagine
Read and Discover
Dominoes Oxford
Bookworms Library
  • American English
  • Fiction & non-fiction
  • Fiction
  • Fiction
  • Non-fiction
  • Fiction & non-fiction
  • Good for intensive reading
  • Fiction & non-fiction
  • Good for extensive reading
          Stage 6
          Stage 5
          Stage 4
    Level 6 Level 6 Level 3 Stage 3
  Level 5    
  Level 5 Level 5 Level 2 Stage 2
Starter - Level 4
Level 4 Level 4
Level 4
Level 1 Stage 1
Level 3 Level 3
Level 3
Level 2 Level 2 Level 2 Starter &
Quick Starter
Level 1
  Level 1 Level 1
  Starter &
Early Starter

*This chart is a guide only.