The Relapse and Other Plays

ISBN : 9780199555697

John Vanbrugh; Brean Hammond
432 Pages
131 x 197 mm
Pub date
Aug 2009
Oxford World's Classics
Send mail

The Relapse * The Provoked Wife * The Confederacy * A Journey to London * The Country House

These five comedies on the theme of marital disharmony by the foremost Restoration playwright John Vanbrugh (1664-1726) are published in the Oxford English Drama series. The texts are freshly edited using modern spelling. There is a critical introduction, wide-ranging annotation, and an informative bibliography which together illuminate the plays' cultural context and theatrical potential for reader and performer alike. 'The series should reshape the canon in a number of significant areas. A splendid and imaginative project.' Professor Anne Barton, Cambridge University

ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.


The Relapse
The Provoked Wife
The Confederacy
A Journey to London
The Country House

About the author: 

Edited by Brean Hammond, Professor of English, Nottingham University

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.