Thomas Browne: Selected Writings

ISBN : 9780198797654

Kevin Killeen
1048 Pages
138 x 216 mm
Pub date
Jan 2018
21st Century Oxford Authors
Send mail

This volume in the 21st Century Oxford Authors series offers students and readers an authoritative, comprehensive selection of the work of Sir Thomas Browne (1605-1682). The edition introduces students to one of the most brilliant and wide-ranging of writers in Renaissance England. Explanatory notes and commentary are included, to enhance the study, understanding, and enjoyment of these works, and the edition includes an Introduction to the life and works of Browne.


Acknowledgements; List of illustrations; Introduction; Notes on Text and Annotation; Religio Medici (1643); Pseudodoxia Epidemica (1646); Hydriotaphia or Urn-Burial (1658); The Garden of Cyrus (1658); Certain Miscellany Tracts (1683); Letter to a Friend (1690); Christian Morals (1716); Notes

About the author: 

Kevin Killeen is Lecturer in English Literature at the University of York. He has written extensively on Thomas Browne and the intellectual culture of the seventeenth century, as well as the history of science and religion. He writes also on the politics of early modern England and its use of the Bible in thinking about political questions. Among his books is the prize winning Biblical Scholarship, Science and Politics in Early Modern Culture: Thomas Browne and The Thorny Place of Knowledge (2009).

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.