European Pain Management

ISBN : 9780198785750

Christopher Eccleston; Christopher Wells; Bart Morlion
304 Pages
158 x 233 mm
Pub date
Dec 2017
Send mail

The European Pain Federation, which is made up of chapters of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP), represents over 740 people million people in 37 different countries. European Pain Management provides a review of the organization of pain care in the 37 member countries. Leaders in each country offer a chapter on how their health and pain care services are organized, the demands of their specific populations, the specific national challenges they face, and examples of innovations and advances. After this comprehensive summary, key experts in the field discuss issues that are pertinent to all of the European nations ranging from working with young people to managing opioids and the rise of pain as a specialism. The final chapter pulls together themes from across the entire book, making a call to envision a new form of pain management for a new Europe, making European Pain Management the first authoritative summary, description, and coordinated challenge


Section 1: Foundations; 1.1 Christopher Eccleston, Bart Morlion, and Christopher Wells: Pain in Europe; 1.2 Harald Breivik: Pain in Europe; Section 2: National chapter reports; 2.1 Apostol Vaso: Albania; 2.2 Rudolf Likar: Austria; 2.3 Patrice Forget, Susan Broekmans, Lies de Ruddere, Conny Goethals, Koen Lauwers, Bruno Leroy, Marie-Claire Schommer, and Guy Hans.: Belgium; 2.4 Amira Karkin-Tais: Bosnia and Herzogovina; 2.5 Atanas Temelkov: Bulgaria; 2.6 Mira Fingler and Ivan Rados: Croatia; 2.7 Richard Rokyta and Jiri Kozak: Czech Republic; 2.8 Gitte Handberg and Thorvaldur Skuli Palsson: Denmark; 2.9 Maksim Kunevich and Aleksandra Shilova: Estonia; 2.10 Juha Nevantaus: Finland; 2.11 Didier Bouhassira and Nadine Attal: France; 2.12 Thomas Tolle, Michael Schafer, and Thomas Isenberg: Germany; 2.13 Emmanouil P. Anastassiou: Greece; 2.14 Janos Tajti, Delia Szok, and Janos Szolcsanyi: Hungary; 2.15 David Finn, Brona Fullen, Brian McGuire, Joanne OBrien, Laserina O'Connor, Raymond Victory, and Shelagh Wright: Ireland; 2.16 Elon Eisenberg and Silviu Brill: Israel; 2.17 Stefano Coaccioli and Antonella Paladini: Italy; 2.18 Adem Bytyqi and Agron Bytyqi: Kosovo; 2.19 Iveta Golubovska, Mihails Arons, Aleksejs Miscuks, and Inara Logina: Latvia; 2.20 Arunas Sciupokas: Lithuania; 2.21 Adrian Belii: Moldova; 2.22 Petter Borchgrevink and Astrid Woodhouse: Norway; 2.23 Jan Dobrogowski and Magdalena Kocot-Kepska: Poland; 2.24 Ana Valentim and Pedro Ferreira: Portugal; 2.25 Adriana Sarah Nica: Romania; 2.26 Nicolay N Yahno, Michail L Kukushkin, and Maxim V. Churyukanov: Russia; 2.27 Daniele Battelli: San Marino; 2.28 Miroslava Pjevic: Serbia; 2.29 Marta Kulichova: Slovakia; 2.30 Marija Cesar Komar, Nevenka Krcevski-Skvarc, and Gorazd Pozep: Slovenia; 2.31 Rafael Galvez Mateos and Juan Perez Cajaraville: Spain; 2.32 Anna Bjarnegard, Carina Carlsson, Eva Gave, Rolf Karlsten, Malin Lindback, Elisabeth Persson, and Malin Ernberg: Sweden; 2.33 Andre Ljutow and Christine Cedraschi: Switzerland; 2.34 Gertie Filippini, Kris Vissers, and Michiel Reneman: The Netherlands; 2.35 Nuri Suleyman Ozyalcin: Turkey; 2.36 Ann Taylor: Ukraine; 2.37 Vladimir Romanenko: United Kingdom; Section 3: Special issues; 3.1 Gisele Pickering: Pain in later life; 3.2 Julia Wager and Boris Zernikow: Pain in children; 3.3 Cathy Stannard: Opioids; 3.4 Andreas Kopf: Speciality pain medicine; 3.5 Nevenka Krevski-Skvarc: Working at the frontiers of pain management in Europe; 3.6 Norbert van Rooij, Joop van Griensven, Mariano Votta, and Bart Morlion: European pain policy: challenges and opportunities; 3.7 Christopher Eccleston, Christopher Wells, and Bart Morlion: European pain management: future directions

About the author: 

Professor Christopher Eccleston directs the centre for pain research at the University of Bath, which is home to pain and rehabilitation scientists who are active in the fields of evidence-based pain, e-health, therapy innovation, adolescent and family pain, and individual differences in pain. He is particularly interested in the psychology of all physical sensations, and in promoting modern medical psychology.; Dr Chris Wells is President of the European Pain Federation, EFIC. He has initiated a multidisciplinary core curriculum in Europe, leading to a Diploma in Pain Medicine (EDPM) for all medical doctors. He has been Secretary of the British Pain Society and was made an Honorary Member of the Society in 2007. He co-founded NeuPSIG, a Special Interest Group of IASPCO. He is an Honorary Members of this group and also IASP itself. He is one of 3 Founder Examiners for the World Institute of Pain 's Fellowship of Interventional Pain Practice (FIPP) examination. He was a member of the recent (2016) NICE Guideline Development Group on low back pain and sciatica. He now lives in Portugal, running a blueberry farm. ; Bart Morlion directs the multidisciplinary pain centre at the University Hospitals Leuven and teaches pain management and pharmacology at the University of Leuven. He is program director for the interuniversity postgraduate certification in algology-pain medicine in Belgium. He will take office as president of the European Pain Federation in September 2017. His interests go to the organization of multimodal pain management and the pharmacotherapy of pain.

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.