Federico Moreno Torroba

ISBN : 9780190628468

Walter Aaron Clark; William Craig Krause
400 Pages
156 x 234 mm
Pub date
Dec 2016
Currents in Latin American & Iberian Music
Send mail

The last of the Spanish Romantics, composer, conductor, and impresario Federico Moreno Torroba (1891-1982) left his mark on virtually every aspect of Spanish musical culture during a career which spanned six decades, and saw tremendous political and cultural upheavals. After Falla, he was the most important and influential musician: in addition to his creative activities, he was President of the General Society of Authors and Editors and director of the Academy of Fine Arts and Teatro Zarzuela. His enduring contributions as a composer include copious amounts of guitar music composed for Andres Segovia and several highly successful zarzuelas which remain in the repertoire today. Written by two leading experts in the field, Federico Moreno Torroba: A Musical Life in Three Acts explores not only his life and work, but also the relationship of his music to the cultural milieu in which he moved. It sheds particular light on the relationship of Torroba's music and the cultural politics of Francisc


Lists of Illustrations and Musical Examples
INTRODUCTION: The Eternal Tradition

ACT I: 1891-1932
Scene i: 1898, The End
Scene ii: Madrileno
Scene iii: Analysis of works: La Virgen de mayo, La marchenera, Luisa Fernanda
Suite castellana, Sonatina, Piezas caracteristicas (selections)

ACT II: 1932-1960
Scene i: 1936, Anarchy
Scene ii: Navarro
Scene iii: Analysis of works: Azabache, Xuanon, La chulapona, Monte Carmelo, La Caramba
Madronos, Romance de los pinos

ACT III: 1960-1982
Scene i: 1975, The Beginning
Scene ii: Espanol
Scene iii: Analysis of works: El poeta
Castillos de Espana (selections), Puertas de Madrid (selections), Dialogos entre guitarra y orquesta, Concierto iberico

FINALE: The Legacy of Torroba
1: Chronology
2: Works List

About the author: 

Walter Aaron Clark is internationally renowned for his research on Spanish and Latin American music. He is the author of Oxford biographies on Isaac Albeniz and Enrique Granados, as well as the series editor of OUP's Currents in Latin American and Iberian Music. He has edited or co-edited books on Latin pop (Routledge), Ibero-American Renaissance music (Pendragon), and the first comprehensive textbook on Latin American music (Norton). He is the founder/director of the Center for Iberian and Latin American Music at the University of California, Riverside.; William Craig Krause began his research on Moreno Torroba in 1988, resulting in a presentation at the International Musicological Society conference in Madrid in 1992 and the completion of his dissertation in in 1993. Since that time he has authored or co-authored articles on this and related subjects in The Revised New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Diccionario de la Musica Espanola e Hispanoamericana, Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart and Encuentros. While primarily a professor of musicology at Hollins University, he also has an extensive background in the field of arts administration and recently has developed a secondary area of interest in the music of Appalachia.

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.