The Development of Ethics: From Socrates to the Reformation: v. 1

ISBN : 9780199693856

Terence H. Irwin
840 Pages
183 x 245 mm
Pub date
Aug 2011
Send mail

The Development of Ethics is a selective historical and critical study of moral philosophy in the Socratic tradition, with special attention to Aristotelian naturalism, its formation, elaboration, criticism, and defence. It discusses the main topics of moral philosophy as they have developed historically, including: the human good, human nature, justice, friendship, and morality; the methods of moral inquiry; the virtues and their connexions; will, freedom, and responsibility; reason and emotion; relativism, subjectivism, and realism; the theological aspect of morality. This volume examines ancient and medieval philosophy up to the sixteenth century; Volumes 2 and 3 will continue the story up to Rawls's Theory of Justice. The present volume begins with Socrates, the Cyrenaics and Cynics, and Plato, and then offers a fuller account of Aristotle, stressing the systematic naturalism of his position. The Stoic position is compared with the Aristotelian at some length; Epicureans and Sceptics are discussed more briefly. Chapters on early Christianity and on Augustine introduce a fuller examination of Aquinas' revision, elaboration, and defence of Aristotelian naturalism. The volume closes with an account of some criticisms of the Aristotelian outlook by Scotus, Ockham, Machiavelli, and some sixteenth-century Reformers. The emphasis of the book is not purely descriptive, narrative, or exegetical, but also philosophical. Irwin discusses the comparative merits of different views, the difficulties that they raise, and how some of the difficulties might be resolved. The book tries to present the leading moral philosophers of the past as participants in a rational discussion that is still being carried on, and tries to help the reader to participate in this discussion.


I. Introduction
II. Socrates
III. Cyrenaics
IV. Cynics
V. Plato
VI. Aristotle: Happiness
VII. Aristotle: Nature
VIII. Aristotle: Virtue
IX. Aristotle: Virtue and Morality
X. Scepticism
XI. Epicurus
XII. Stoicism: Action, Passion, and Reason
XIII. Stoicism: Virtue and Happiness
XIV. Christian Theology and Moral Philosophy
XV. Augustine
XVI. Aquinas: Will
XVII. Aquinas: Action
XVIII. Aquinas: Freedom
XIX. Aquinas: The Ultimate End
XX. Aquinas: Moral Virtue
XXI. Aquinas: Natural Law
XXII. Aquinas: Practical Reason and Prudence
XXIII. Aquinas: The Canon of Virtues
XXIV. Aquinas: Sin and Grace
XXV. Scotus: Will, Freedom, and Reason
XXVI. Scotus: Virtue and Practical Reason
XXVII. Ockham
XXVIII. Machiavelli
XXIX. The Reformation and Scholastic Moral Philosophy

About the author: 

Terence Irwin is Professor of Ancient Philosophy in the University of Oxford, and Fellow of Keble College.

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.