Michael Atiyah Collected Works

ISBN : 9780199689279

Michael Atiyah
4816 Pages
Multiple Copy Pack
269 x 309 mm
Pub date
May 2014
Send mail

Professor Atiyah is one of the greatest living mathematicians and is renowned in the mathematical world. He is a recipient of the Fields Medal, the mathematical equivalent of the Nobel Prize, and is still actively involved in the mathematics community. His huge number of published papers, focusing on the areas of algebraic geometry and topology, have here been collected into seven volumes, with the first five volumes divided thematically and the sixth and seventh arranged by date. This seven volume set of the collected works of Professor Sir Michael Atiyah, includes: Collected Works: Volume 1: Early Papers; General Papers Collected Works: Volume 2: K-Theory Collected Works: Volume 3: Index Theory: 1 Collected Works: Volume 4: Index Theory: 2 Collected Works: Volume 5: Gauge Theories Collected Works: Volume 6: Publications between 1987 and 2002 New for 2014: Collected Works: Volume 7: 2002-2013, including Sir Michael's work on skyrmions; K-theory and cohomology; geometric models of matter; curvature, cones and characteristic numbers; and reflections on the work of Riemann, Einstein and Bott.

About the author: 

Professor Sir Michael Atiyah is acknowledged as one of the world's greatest living mathematicians. He held the Savilian Chair of Geometry at Oxford from 1963 until 1969 and was awarded the Fields Medal during this period (in 1966). He is a former President of the Royal Society, former Master of Trinity College, Cambridge, and was the first Director of the Isaac Newton Institute for the Mathematical Sciences. He remains active in mathematics and in 2013 opened Oxford's new Mathematical Institute. He is currently Honorary Professor at the University of Edinburgh.

The price listed on this page is the recommended retail price for Japan. When a discount is applied, the discounted price is indicated as “Discount price”. Prices are subject to change without notice.